Political Stop-motion Animation

This video is made by recording the movement of play dough using photography, narrated by snippets of a political speech. Play dough was made by me using an online recipe and food dye. After sculpting my characters and writing a story board, I set my stage with tungsten lights and a white background. I recorded each small increment of movement using a digital camera set on a tripod. The sound comprises music put together in the program ‘garage band’ and a political speech cut up to narrate the animation. The statements are accompanied by comical visuals animated to add to these statements using everyday nature as puns. Words appear on screen and is highlighted by a bouncing ball reiterating the statements, adding a karaoke type of atmosphere that brings forth, to me, a sense of frivolity. This piece started the political satire aspect in my work.

Sharon

Leave a Reply

